And My Fitness/Get My Life Back Journey Continues…

Well, it has been two months since I last posted and a lot has been going on. Two months ago I my weight loss was at 10lbs, today I have lost 16lbs. This shows me that even though the weight is slowly coming off that my limited timed to workout is making it just a little harder to loose the weight this time around.

Even though I changed the way my family makes food and have been getting in lunch-time elliptical sessions at least Monday-Thursday I finally accepted that it was just not enough. Yes, I was feeling better, 16lbs lighter helps for sure, and my after pregnancy work attire is too big now, so thats a huge accomplishment. However, I still wasn’t feeling better, my ankle was continuing to bother me and I had no energy to play with my 18m old son after work and be the wife that I wanted to be. I was felt accomplished if I could get dinner ready ahead so after work I could come home and sit down.

This is not who I am, I am an

  • active
  • outgoing
  • adventurous person

I needed to get that person back for:

  • myself
  • my husband
  • my children

The most important person in that list is myself, if I do not put myself first, then everyone else suffers. The better I feel, the more I can give of myself to the ones I love the most.

I knew it was time to take a leap of faith, one of my best friends continued to encourage me to give beachbody and the 21day fix a chance, she swore I would not regret it. So, I finally decided to join the beachbody coach family.

Two weeks ago I ordered my coach kit and that very weekend I did my first at home pilates workout once my son went to bed. I did not have to put him in daycare at the gym to get this workout it, and that made it all the more satisfying! I did not do well that week in getting anymore fix workouts in but I did continue my elliptical workouts on lunch. Last weekend I did “Total Body Cardio” for the first time and I felt amazing after. That natural high from working your body and getting those endorphins going is the best ever. This is even more important for me because, FOR 13 YEARS I TOOK A COCKTAIL OF MEDICINE TO MAKE ME “feel” BETTER! Guess what, I don’t need any of it now. One thing the meds did help with of course was pain and they actually gave me energy. My choice to breastfeed my son meant no more meds and I’m so grateful to be med free. It has almost been two years without any medicine other than my prescription migraine meds, which I rarely take.

I started sharing my new coaching journey with a few coworkers and come to find out, one already had the 21day fix program at home! She was all for joining me on my lunch-time workouts. We actually have an amazing place to work out at work! After I scoped everything out on Tuesday and did the “upper fix” on my own, two of my coworkers were super excited to join me on Wednesday. We did the lower fix together and it was super awesome to have the support of each other. Thursday we did pilates together. I can’t wait to begin the entire program as a coach and a new 100% fully committed fix member on Monday.

What has me so excited is that this week I no longer felt like I was failing at all of my tasks every day. To be a disabled, full-time working, wife and mother is harder than I ever thought it would be. I need to be in great shape, I need to have energy, I can’t have my leg and body holding me back from living my life. This is a forever journey for me, I have permanent injuries that will never go away and as I get older they only get worse. It is a life requirement to stay in shape and strong so that I can take on life full-force.

Today, my son was loving the warmer weather and that we did not have any plans. He loves basketball, football, walking, running, riding in his cozy coup car, and well, keeping his Father and Mother super busy. I noticed that I just didn’t have the energy to chase after him a few weeks ago and today I had no problem keeping up with him. I lasted all day playing with him. Such a blessing, so thankful these 30-minute workouts have already done so much for me. I am super excited to loose more weight and get into my pre-baby wardrobe. I have at least three more sizes to drop to accomplish this.  More importantly though, is the ability to walk right and not struggle every day to do the normal daily activities that life requires.

My ankle fusion surgery 4 years ago did eliminate the need for an ankle brace, which was a huge freedom for me. It is amazing everything I do with my injuries with my son and I want to never have him feel that I can’t do something with him because of my disability. I want to show him that no matter what happens in your life you can overcome it and rise above the challenges. Also, when you rise above these challenges, you grow to be even better and wiser.

I had to admit that with the changes in my lifestyle as a wife and mother I could no longer spend the long hours I used to in the gym. I am so excited to be on my next journey for myself and others. I love inspiring others and I am grateful that becoming a beach body coach has already allowed me to motivate others on their fitness journey.

IMG_0079
3 months ago

The past two weeks!

If my ankle and leg can handle the workouts, anyone can do them!! Look at that nice foot that is actually flatter and stronger in just a couple weeks!!!

Leave a comment